Haul, TBR & Wrap Up

Book haul – September

September has been a really good month! There’s still a few days left in September but I’m not planning on getting anything else. I might have gone a little overboard, but I got most of these books for a really good deal from a local store. So I’m happy that I did not spend a lot on these books.


I will be out of town for the next 2 months and I’m planning to read these over the next two months. I purchased a total of 8 books this month.

  1. Last Man in Tower, Aravind Adiga –  is a 2011 novel. I have never heard about this book before. When I read the synopsis I decided to give it a shot. Plus I got it for almost 70% off. Hardcover & 70% off, that’s not something I can walk away from.The protagonist of the novel is a retired schoolteacher named Yogesh, who is affectionately known as Masterji. A prominent builder offers to buy out the entire apartment block. All of the occupants agree, except for Masterji. This creates problem for the builder and the other residents. The story is about Mumbai real estate.
  2. The Diary of a Young Girl by Anne Frank – I have been meaning to read this since a really long time. So when I saw this beautiful hardcover edition I couldn’t resist. This book accounts approximately two years of the life a Jewish teenager during World War II. Anne and her family are fleeing the horrors of Nazi occupation and are hiding in Amsterdam. Her dairy describes vividly the constant threat of discovery, hunger, tiredness and boredom that she witnessed in those two years. I have read The Book Thief and that’s one of my all time favourites. I hope this will also join the list.
  3. Aristotle and Dante Discover the Secrets of the Universe, Benjamin Alire Sáenz – This book is all over booktube and instagram. It is a coming-of-age YA novel. The story follows two Mexican-American boys, Aristotle and Dante, their friendship, and their struggles with sexuality, and family relationships. This book has such great reviews, and I can’t wait to pick this one up.

  4. Stalker, Lars Kepler – When I read the synopsis of this book I was intrigued. I do not know much about this one. It is a thriller and a lot of reviewers say it is perfect for fans of Stieg Larsson and Jo Nesbo. Will let you know more in the wrap up blog.

  5.  Norwegian Wood, and Kafka on the Shore, Haruki Murakami – Murakami’s books are international bestsellers. I have never read any of his books. So when I found two of his books in a local bookstore I picked both of them. I know Kafka on the Shore has some magical realism elements and I’m really excited to read it.
  6. Lolita, Vladimir Nabokov – I have heard a lot about this book but never got a chance to read it.

    Humbert Humbert – scholar, aesthete and romantic – has fallen completely and utterly in love with Lolita Haze, his landlady’s gum-snapping, silky skinned twelve-year-old daughter. Reluctantly agreeing to marry Mrs Haze just to be close to Lolita, Humbert suffers greatly in the pursuit of romance; but when Lo herself starts looking for attention elsewhere, he will carry her off on a desperate cross-country misadventure, all in the name of Love. Hilarious, flamboyant, heart-breaking and full of ingenious word play, Lolita is an immaculate, unforgettable masterpiece of obsession, delusion and lust.

  7. IT, Stephen King – I watched the movie recently and that’s the reason I bought this one. I think this needs no introduction. This book is humongous.  I have never read a book this huge. It is a challenge for me, and I think I might read just a few chapters every week. I will update you guys on how that goes.

Hope you enjoyed reading about my September book haul. Please do let me know what are the books that you purchased this month, in the comments section. I would love to know.

Love,
A fellow bibliophile

8 thoughts on “Book haul – September

  1. I bought IT a while back myself, but haven’t gotten myself to read it yet. Not because it’s a monster of a book, but because it’s.. well, I just know it’s going to scare me and give me sleepless nights, haha. I’m usually not a big fan of horror at all, but I did fall with King’s writing when I read The Shining.
    Some day I’ll convince myself and find my brave side to start reading, haha!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s